Published on:

Understanding Florida Auto Insurance Laws

Florida is a no-fault state when it comes to insurance. This means that your coverage is no-fault in the state when it comes to bodily injuries. If you are in an accident, each injured party pays their own medical bills and any bills related to personal injury, no matter who caused the accident. The ability to sue someone else for personal injury is limited but not eradicated by this type of coverage.

Florida law requires all drivers to have a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage as well as a minimum of $10,000 in Property Damage Liability. This insures that in the event of a car accident you are covered for any bodily injuries the accident causes as well as any property damage (including property to homes, businesses, and other recoils). Personal Injury Protection covers not only medical expenses but also lost services, lost wages, and funeral expenses in the event of a fatal car accident.

It is a good idea to carry more than the stated limits for coverage. A $10 000 policy will not cover the damage done to most cars in a serious car accidents and medical expenses and funeral expenses are often much larger than $10 000. Many drivers worry about the costs of premiums if they raise their coverage, but in many cases drivers can save money by carrying a higher deductible.

Some drivers must also have Bodily Injury Liability. Under Florida law, drivers with past accidents or driving violations are sometimes advised that they must have this type of coverage. This coverage pays for the injuries that victims suffer in a car accident. If you are in a car accident and the driver of the other vehicle suffers spinal cord injury or other serious injury, for example, this coverage will help pay for the medical bills and related expenses.

Even if you do not have to carry bodily injury liability, it is a good idea to do so to help defray the expenses and liability of a car accident. The minimum coverage for such insurance is usually $10 000 per person with a maximum of $20 000, but it is a good idea to carry more than this minimum. This type of coverage can protect you financially in the event of an accident.

Optional coverage includes collision insurance, which protects you against the cost of having your car repaired after a collision and comprehensive coverage, which covers you against theft as well as damage to your car caused by vandals and some natural disasters.
Uninsured and under-insured motorists coverage is also optional but highly recommended. This form of coverage protects you financially in case you are in an accident with someone who has no insurance or does not have enough insurance to pay for your injuries or car damage.